The Australian Developer
FRI 23.10.26CASH RATE 4.60%10-YR 5.280.03AUD US.70180.11%Newsletter

Ormeau concreter Crete Construct now in voluntary administration

Crete Construct, the Ormeau concreter facing a wind-up bid we covered on 15 October, entered voluntary administration on 19 October instead.

·3 min
19 Octadministration date
22 Octnotice published
14 Octwind-up hearing

Crete Construct Pty Ltd, the Ormeau concreter we reported facing a winding-up application on 15 October, has instead gone into voluntary administration. An ASIC notice published on 22 October records an administrator appointed to the company on 19 October 2026, five days after the winding-up application was listed for a court hearing.

Why it matters

The move changes which insolvency process now controls the company. A winding-up application, the step we reported on 15 October, is a creditor asking a court to liquidate a company. Voluntary administration is different: an administrator takes control to assess whether the company can be saved, sold, or should be wound up, and reports back to creditors. The two processes are not interchangeable, and the ASIC record now shows the second one, not the first.

For a Gold Coast or Brisbane builder with open work or unpaid invoices involving Crete Construct, the practical effect is immediate. Control of the company’s contracts, bank accounts and books passes to the administrator. Any money owed to Crete Construct becomes a matter for the administrator to collect. Any money Crete Construct owes becomes an unsecured claim unless it is quarantined some other way, and a head contractor should lodge a claim rather than pursue the company directly.

Our earlier report, citing a 28 September ASIC notice, said JGI Transport Pty Ltd had applied to wind up Crete Construct, with a hearing listed for 10:30am on 14 October in the Supreme Court of Victoria. That notice did not record a winding-up order, and the company was not shown as in liquidation at the time. The new 22 October notice does not say whether that application was withdrawn, dismissed, or overtaken by the administration, and ASIC’s published notice does not state the reason for the change in process.

The numbers

The ASIC notice is filed under paragraph 436E(3)(b) and paragraph 450A(1)(b) of the Corporations Act, the provisions covering an administrator’s appointment and the first meeting of creditors. It gives an appointment date of 19 October 2026 and a publication date of 22 October 2026. It does not state a debt figure, and none appears on the public record we checked.

Crete Construct, ACN 669 315 851, holds a QBCC trade contractor licence for concreting with an Ormeau business address, according to the Queensland Government’s licensee register. That licence status is unchanged by the administration notice itself; a QBCC licence can be suspended or cancelled separately, and a builder should check the register directly rather than assume.

What’s next

Voluntary administration carries a statutory first meeting of creditors under section 436E, where the administrator reports on the company’s position and creditors vote on its future: a deed of company arrangement, liquidation, or a return of control to the directors. ASIC’s published-notices site will carry that meeting notice when it is lodged; the record we checked did not yet show a meeting date.

For a builder or supplier with exposure to Crete Construct:

  • Treat any invoice or retention owed to the company as a creditor claim, not a debt to collect directly, and direct it to the administrator once named on a later notice.
  • Confirm who is currently on site under any Crete Construct subcontract, and whether the administrator intends to continue trading the business or wind it down.
  • Check the QBCC licensee register for Crete Construct’s current licence status before relying on it for new or ongoing work.
  • Watch ASIC’s published notices for the section 439A second meeting, which is where creditors decide the company’s outcome.

This follows our 15 October report on three Gold Coast trades insolvencies, which first flagged the Crete Construct wind-up bid alongside two unrelated liquidations.

More: Queensland →

On the record

Primary recordQBCC licensed contractors register (Queensland Government open data)QBCC licensee register entry for Crete Construct
How we report →

Get tomorrow's Index

Every notable filing, deal and approval in Australian development, ranked, in one three‑minute read each morning. Free.

Your markets

Unsubscribe in one click.